Who is That?

Who is that guy? You know…the guy right next to you.
He’s waving at me from where you are standing.
Yes, he’s just beside you, smiling at me as if, he’s happy to see me.
But he doesn’t attempt to come up to me…just staying there right next to you.
It’s as if he doesn’t want to leave you, as if he’s afraid you’d leave him behind…

Why does he cling to you so? Do you know him?

::::::::::::::::::::

What’s this you’re saying? What blasphemy are you talking about?
There’s no one beside me…but there’s a person right beside you waving at me.
Where are your eyes wandering to…he’s just beside you staring back at me…
Do you not see him? He’s smiling at me sadly as if he’s got some untold secrets.
Why are you sad? Are you hurt? What is wrong?

Oh please…why can’t you see he’s sad that you don’t notice him…

::::::::::::::::::::

I don’t understand what you’re saying…what guy?
The only guy I see is right there next to you.
He’s frowning at me as if he’s pondering about our conversation…
Oh no!! Please don’t cry…have you no heart? Why aren’t you comforting him?
Why can’t you see him! And why is it that you say you someone is next to me…?

What is going on? Is something wrong with our eyes? Are we going mad?

::::::::::::::::::::

Why is it that we can’t see them?
Am I blind or are you the blinded one?
He, the guy beside you, he’s saying that he’s used to it…
What are you used to, Mr. Man? How come only I can see you and not him too?
What’s that? I am also the blind fool? But how can that be? I can see you…

What going on? I don’t understand it. What’s going on?!?!

::::::::::::::::::::

There is nothing wrong with your eyes, nonetheless, you are both blinded fools.
We have always been by your sides, from the moment you made a friend,
from the moment we shake hands and exchanged smiles.
We are always near you and around you, we take pride in your success
And cry with you in your downfall.
You have just never noticed us for we are always constantly with you
that you tend to get too used to it and take it for granted
Who are we? What are we?

We are the ones you call “My bestfriend”

::::::::::::::::::::

Well, what I am trying to explain here is, don’t take your friends for granted, they’re human too, they feel hurt when they’re ignored or left behind for bigger and better things. Just because your life is WAY better now. They’re still your friends. They have been with you through good and bad times. So even if you have gone on to bigger and more influential things and friends, would you think these newer ones would stick by you forever, just like the old ones?

To quote these people, I’d say that it’s words best kept to heart :

One loyal friend is worth ten thousand relatives.
Euripides, Greek playwrite

I find friendship to be like wine, raw when new, ripened with age, the true old man’s milk and restorative cordial.
Thomas Jefferson

Too late we learn, a man must hold his friend
Unjudged, accepted, trusted to the end.

John Boyle O’Reilly

My best friend is the one who brings out the best in me.
Henry Ford

The most I can do for my friend is simply to be his friend. I have no wealth to bestow on him. If he knows that I am happy in loving him, he will want no other reward. Is not friendship divine in this?
Henry David Thoreau

PS : This piece is very erm…how do you say…not well-versed cause I can’t seem to express myself correctly. There probably will be a second version to this later on when I have the time…therefore, be harsh with the criticisms 😛

Signature

1 Comment

  1. huei said,

    April 12, 2007 at 11:55 am

    this is really meaningful!

    =)


Leave a Reply

